Announced on October 24th, the shortlist for the An Post Irish Book Awards 2019, features writing from new and established writers across sixteen categories.

We’re delighted here at The Stinging Fly to have writers nominated in 3 categories. Congratulations to Dean Browne, Andrea Carter and Nicole Flattery!

Readers can cast their votes on the An Post Irish Book Awards website and winners will be announced on November 20th. Voting closes on November 13th.


Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year

Leonard & Hungry Paul – Rónán Hession (Bluemoose Books)

Last Ones Left Alive – Sarah Davis-Goff (Tinder Press)

When All is Said – Anne Griffin (Hodder & Stoughton)

Show Them a Good Time – Nicole Flattery (The Stinging Fly Press)

Minor Monuments – Ian Maleney (Tramp Press)

Don’t Touch My Hair – Emma Dabiri (Allen Lane) Short Story of the Year 

Parrot – Nicole Flattery (The Stinging Fly, Issue 39, Volume 2, Winter 2018-19)

A Real Woman – Orla McAlinden (Full of Grace, published by Red Stag)

Mother May I – Amy Gaffney (HCE Review, Volume 3, Issue 1)

Sparing the Heather – Louise Kennedy (Banshee, Issue 8)

Balloon Animals – Laura-Blaise McDowell (Still Worlds Turning, published by No Alibis Press)

The Lamb – Andrea Carter (from Counterparts: A Synergy of Law and Literature, The Stinging Fly Press)


Read the shortlisted stories here.


Listowel Writers’ Week Irish Poem of the Year 

Salt Rain – Audrey Molloy (Mslexia, September 2019)

The Kerchief – Christine Broe (Poetry Ireland and Trócaire Poetry Competition 2019)

Pine Box in the Flea Market – Dean Browne (The Stinging Fly, Summer 2019)

Dear Sean – Paul McMahon (The North – Special Irish Issue)


Read the shortlisted poems here.