The Writer's Torch_Cover
Edited by Phyllis Boumans, Elke D’hoker and Declan Meade

The Writer’s Torch


SKU: N/A Categories: , ,

  • Pages: 329
  • ISBN: 978-1-906539-91-7
  • Published: Feb 2023


Eighteen short stories from the pages of Dublin’s iconic literary magazine The Bell (1940 – 1954) with responses by eighteen of our foremost contemporary writers.

‘Why Blame The Seagulls?’ by Peadar O’Donnell
Response by Danny Denton

‘Moonshine’ by Michael McLaverty
Response by David Park

‘Sunday Afternoon’ by Elizabeth Bowen
Response by Danielle McLaughlin

‘Uprooted’ by Frank O’Connor
Response by Philip Ó Ceallaigh

‘Out Patients’ by Olivia Manning Robertson
Response by Martina Evans

‘Yung Mari Li’ by Bryan MacMahon
Response by Yan Ge

‘The Man Who Invented Sin’ by Sean O’Faolain
Response by Anne Enright

‘Janey Mary’ by James Plunkett
Response by Christine Dwyer Hickey

‘The Lament’ by Liam O’Flaherty
Response by Sean O’Reilly

‘A Story with a Pattern’ by Mary Lavin
Response by Kathleen MacMahon

‘Girls’ by Val Mulkerns
Response by Mia Gallagher

‘Fable’ by Margaret Barrington
Response by Éilís Ní Dhuibhne

‘Theresa’ by Mary Beckett
Response by Philomena Mullen

‘The Enchanted Palace’ by Benedict Kiely
Response by Martina Devlin

‘Mould’ by John Hewitt
Response by Nicole Flattery

‘A Fit of Laughing’ by Kate O’Brien
Response by Evelyn Conlon

‘Ransom’ by David Marcus
Response by Mary Morrissy

‘Mullally’s “Reverie”’ by Brinsley MacNamara
Response by Alan McMonagle


Cover Design: Catherine Gaffney

Additional information


Paperback, Limited Edition Hardback

Shipping Region

Ireland & Northern Ireland, UK & Europe, Rest of the World